Defusing Disruptive Behavior

Defusing Disruptive Behavior

Welcome to the Virginia Department of Education’s Defusing Disruptive Behavior. This series of eight modules will describe the phases of the Escalation Cycle and provide information and strategies to consider when defusing behavior. The information in this series is intended for use by Virginia school personnel. For the most complete understanding of the processes and practices described in this series, it is recommended that you complete these modules in order. Throughout these modules, disruptive behavior is defined as any behavior that interferes with the student’s learning or the learning of others in the school setting.

Introduction to the Escalation Cycle and the Baseline Phase

Module 1 provides an overview of the phases of the escalation cycle and begins the initial discussion of the baseline phase. School-wide strategies such as relationships, classroom practices and consistent responses to disruptive behavior are reviewed.

Foundational Principles of Behavior

Module 2 discusses three underlying principles of behavior: all behavior is communication, all behavior has a function, and behavior occurs in chains or a sequence of events.

Setting Events

Module 3 dives deeper into the content around setting events and how they may impact behavior. Examples of setting events, including trauma and implicit biases, are discussed.

Teaching During the Baseline Phase

Module 4 focuses on strategies that can be taught while a student is in the baseline phase of the cycle.

The Trigger Phase

Module 5 provides a description of the trigger phase and explores how staff behavior can impact student behavior.

De-Escalating Behavior During the Trigger Phase

Module 6 provides several evidence-based strategies that can be utilized when a student enters the trigger phase of the escalation cycle.

The Escalation Phase

Module 7 describes the escalation phase of the cycle and provides descriptions of several strategies that can be implemented when a student enters this phase.

The Crisis, De-Escalation, and Post Crisis Phases

Module 8 summarizes the final phases of the escalation cycle: crisis, de-escalation, and post-crisis drain, and provides points to consider during each of these phases.